top of page

The Oven Mitt in the Microwave

I stress out quite a bit. I stress about things that normal people don't really think to stress about.

I have a habit of doing things in my sleep when I get too stressed or have a lot on my mind. Here are some examples:

In High School, we went on a mission trip with a bunch of kids in my youth group at church. We all had bunk beds in different rooms of this old house that used to be a convent. I chose a bottom bunk because I knew there was a chance (with me sleeping in a new environment) that I could get up and walk around in my sleep.

On top of all of this, I had gotten into a fight via text with my boyfriend at the time, surprise surprise! The anxiety commenced.

On one night, I got up in my sleep and proceeded to walk around the upstairs of this old house, opening each and every door and then walking away. Everyone was asleep except for our Youth Minister, who had just gotten up to use the bathroom. He told me he had asked, "Hey Tay...whatcha doing?"

I didn't answer him, just opened the bathroom door for him and then returned to my room.

I don't remember this. Creepy, right?

I'm also a very big fan of chocolate. A very big fan. While studying in Austria, they had this popular chocolate called milka that paired very well with the wine and beer I purchased every week. I had a stash of milka in my desk for safe keeping.

One night, I got down from my top bunk while I was asleep. (Probably shouldn't have taken the top bunk but alas). I rummaged through my desk and found all of the chocolate. The next morning, it looked as if there had been a murder in my bed using a chocolate icicle.

My pillow, sheets, and face were all covered in chocolate. My roommate enjoyed that.

Ben knows to hide the chocolate whenever we have it in the apartment.

Just the other night, I woke up on my couch holding a plate at 2am. No reason. Just wanted a plate I guess.

This morning, Ben found an oven mitt in our microwave. I did that, but I'm not sure if it was because of the amount of wine I drank last night or if I did it while I was sleepwalking. I'm not surprised by either.

When Ben and I were unsure of where he would end up in his medical career, you bet I was saying and doing weird stuff in my sleep. My college roommates can attest to all the conversations we've had while I've been dead asleep. Honesty is key, folks, and my sleepy thoughts tell no lies.

Like the time I really wanted donuts. My roommate Maria came in to go to sleep and I said, "where's my money? I want a donut," and stuck out my hand like she was going to give me some cold hard cash. In reality, I had been dreaming about Ben being a doctor and having all of the money in the world to buy me donuts. The life.

I guess I'm really happy that this is my coping mechanism and not something entirely dangerous. That would really stink.

I wish I could manage my stress a little better, so that sleepwalking doesn't always have to be something I do. For now, though, I guess I'll continue to entertain my husband with putting random objects inside our microwave.

-Tay

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page