top of page

My Husband's Cycle

First off, let me begin by saying no, my husband does not experience a monthly cycle.

He does, however, experience a "test" cycle.

In medical school you have "blocks" where you study a certain subject, and have a midterm the next week, and a final the week after that. If the test is on a Friday, it's a good thing because that usually means we have a weekend we can go out and on dates. If it's in the middle of the week, he has to continually study after that through the weekend.

I digress.

Here is what an average block cycle looks like for Ben:

STAGE 1: THE GIGGLES

First, Ben will start the block off and giggle for two reasons. 1) He knows the material from undergrad and isn't worried a bit. He knows it'll be rough at first, but when the test comes around he will be ready for it. Or 2) He has no idea what to expect, and he thinks its hilarious. It's not close enough to the test where he should be freaking out, but not too far away where he isn't a little nervous. Que nervous giggling.

STAGE 2: HANGRY

You know those memes where the wife is sitting on one end of the couch and the husband is on the other and she's thinking "I have no idea what I did wrong. Is he having an affair? Am I ugly? He won't even talk to me. He's been avoiding me all day. He doesn't love me anymore. Blah blah blah..." And the husband is like "Damn, I'm so upset that my motorcycle broke down today." Well, that's Ben, except with food. He knows exactly when he needs to eat to keep his mind focused on studying, and if he doesn't get it at that precise time - Hangry Ben comes to play. He avoids talking, and when he does, he's snippy. Until I ask him if he wants Mexican for dinner, and then he'll hug me and give me compliments and act like nothing was ever wrong.

STAGE 3: CHOO CHOO, HERE COMES THE COMPLAIN TRAIN

In stage 3, it's normal for Ben to come home and complain about everything. Slow drivers on the road, stupid lectures, dumb teachers, stupid mandatory meetings, stupid material that has nothing to do with the tests, stupid informational lectures, dumb person at the grocery store check out line, dumb thing Benny did, dumb quiz/test/etc.

STAGE 4: THE COMPLAIN TRAIN HAS LEFT THE STATION

"Ugh," He will say. "I'm sorry I'm complaining so much. Don't let me complain anymore. I'm super positive and everything in my life is wonderful!!!!"

Stage 5: EATING RAINBOWS AND POOPING BUTTERFLIES

*DISCLAIMER* Stage 4 can either go to stage 5 or straight to phase 6. In stage 5, Ben is so confident in the material, he's ready to rumble. He studies his butt off, eats when he needs too, and comes home a happy camper. Nothing can go wrong because he's staying positive. Jesus is a friend of his. The whole shebang. Stage 5 is my favorite stage.

STAGE 6: WHAT'S THE USE?

This is a tough stage, but it's a real one. It's the one that we both have to be vulnerable enough to learn from and get through.

Sometimes, the material is just too tough. Ben gets down on himself. I have to become the more positive person during this stage, and it's hard. Really hard. He's in over his head, or so he thinks. He forgets to count his blessings. My job as a wife kicks in at full force during this stage. I think it's something every couple goes through with each other, and it's so important to build each other back up.

STAGE 7: WHOM SHALL I FEAR?

Nobody can pick themselves up as fast as Ben can. He can do a complete 180 overnight, and his mindset completely changes. He becomes grateful and thanks God over and over for all the blessings He's given us. He remembers the miracle of getting into his dream medical school in the first place. He remembers why he wants to be a doctor.

STAGE 8: THE NIGHT BEFORE

This about sums it up.

STAGE 9: VICTORY

The test is over. He will now enjoy a beer and not think about the thousands of tests yet to come.

I am so thankful to be going on such an exciting journey with this guy. Please pray for him often!

-Taylor


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page